Meet the panel


Hon. Justice Rachel Pepper


Professor Barry Hart AM 

Areas of specialisation include:

  • water resource decision making
  • environmental flows 
  • ecological risk assessment
  • natural resource management
  • water quality management
  • environmental chemistry
  • biogeochemical cycling of elements.

Dr David Jones

Areas of specialisation include:

  • environmental geochemistry
  • assessment and management of water quality issues across the energy (coal and coal seam gas) and gold and base mining sectors.

Ms Jane Coram

Areas of specialisation include:

  • geoscience and geospatial solutions to natural resources management challenges
  • groundwater and groundwater-dependent ecosystems
  • communication of science, improving collaboration across science disciplines and science organisations, and encouraging leadership and women in science.

Dr Ross Smith

Areas of specialisation include:

  • hydraulic fracturing fluid ecotoxicology
  • aquatic ecosystems
  • freshwater/marine community ecology
  • water quality
  • resource industry impacts.

Professor Brian Priestly

Areas of specialisation include:

  • environmental health risk assessment
  • human health risk assessment and regulatory control of hazardous chemicals.

Professor Peter McCabe

Areas of specialisation include:

  • petroleum geology
  • sedimentology and stratigraphy
  • basin analysis
  • petroleum system analysis
  • unconventional resources – shale, tight sandstone, coal seam gas
  • resource assessment and global oil and gas resources
  • Australia’s petroleum geology – onshore and offshore.

Dr Alan Andersen

Areas of specialisation include:

  • terrestrial ecology
  • global ecology of ant communities
  • fire ecology and management
  • indigenous engagement.

Dr Vaughan Beck AM

Areas of specialisation include:

  • risk engineering
  • unconventional gas production
  • fire engineering
  • wind engineering
  • building technology.

Professor Peta Ashworth

Areas of specialisation include:

  • developing, leading and managing large interdisciplinary teams of technical and socio-economic dimensions
  • social science
  • sustainable energy future.

Dr David Ritchie

Areas of specialisation include:

  • cultural history and engagement
  • natural resource management
  • public policy
  • governance
  • risk assessment
  • organisational development
  • community engagement.